VB6 by Mark Bittman

The premise of this book was very interesting to me.  I am not a big meat eater and often, if given a choice, will tend to eat in a more vegetarian style.  This book promotes the idea of eating vegan for any meals and snacks eaten before dinner, then the dinner meal is open to other options.

While looking through the book for the first time there were several recipes that I marked that sounded good to me.  The first one that we made was the Banana Chocolate Ice Cream. I thought it was good but my kids did not enjoy the banana taste that came through.  The second one I made was the Curried Carrot and Lentil soup…I was the only one who would eat this one…but I loved it!  Yummy, warm, and comforting.  Because no one else ate this I put a few servings in the freezer to pull out later and the frozen ones were just as good when I reheated them.  The last recipe I tried was the Sweetgreen Quinoa Salad…flavorful and delicious.  Again, I’m the only one who ate it…but that was fine!  It was a much better (and tastier) alternative than eating the mac and cheese the kids were eating for lunch!

I loved the section at the end “VB6” Building Blocks that covered how to make larger batches of several often used ingredients.  With my family, I’m all about making big batches of beans, grains, and vegetables to be used in different ways during the week.

Because I am a the chief cook to this family of 8 and I am the only one who would really follow this kind of lifestyle…it is just not going to happen.  But this book did provide me with some tasty new options that I can make for myself to eat at lunchtime or adapt for my family by adding some grilled chicken…and I’m always looking for delicious ways to increase the fruits and veggies!  So even though I may not follow all of the guidelines exactly as Mark Bittman laid them out…this book is a keeper!

I received this book from the Blogging for Books program in exchange for this review.  I did not receive any other compensation.  All thoughts in this post are my own.

Leave a Reply

