Clean Slate from the editors of Martha Stewart Living

There were some things I really liked about this book…and other things that make this book not much of a keeper for me.

I love the beginning of this book.  I enjoyed reading through the Golden Rules for Eating Clean.  Many of them I can say I am already doing and others I am working on.  The next section called Know Your Nutrients was informative and interesting.  I enjoyed the sections about whole grains and legumes in the Restock Your Pantry section.  And I appreciated the recipes for different juices and smoothies.  There were a lot of combinations that I would never have come up with on my own.  But, unfortunately…the rest of the book wasn’t a good fit for me.

There is a 3 day and 21 day Detox Your Mind and Body Plan.  Unfortunately, too many of the recipes used in this book use ingredients that I typically don’t purchase or are not in season…making following their meal plan cost prohibitive for me.  I will cook something for lunch just for me that I know that my kids won’t like…but too many of the recipes just didn’t appeal to me, required more time that I have for meal preparation at breakfast or lunchtime, or used ingredients that were not in season right now.  I felt like this may be a better book for the Spring and Summer when there is a greater variety of affordable, fresh produce.

I did find a few recipes that I wanted to try.  I made the Mediterranean Chicken Stew with Couscous…although I did make a few changes.  I used my regular recipe for seasoned couscous that I know my kids like.  And I switched out the escarole for spinach.  It was good…but not a keeper for most of my family.  The Swiss chard in the Baked Sweet Potato with Greens also got switched out for spinach.

I liked the idea of the book…but I think it is probably a better option for someone who has a little more time and money than I do!

clean slate

I received this book from the Blogging for Books program in exchange for this review.  I did not receive any other compensation.  All thoughts in this post are my own.

Leave a Reply

