Homemade Cream of Whatever Soup

In my efforts to cook healthier and avoid processed foods, I have been making my own “cream of whatever” soup for about a year.  It is really easy and fast once the mix is put together….and putting the mix together doesn’t take long either!

4 cups powdered milk
1 1/2 cups cornstarch
4 teaspoons dried onion flakes
2 teaspoons dried thyme
2 teaspoons Italian seasoning

1 teaspoon pepper

1/2 teaspoon celery seed (optional)
1/2 cup instant chicken bouillon (I leave this out…see directions)

Measure all ingredients and pour them into a container with an airtight seal.  I have mine in an empty #10 can.

To Use the Mix:  Combine 1/3 cup of the mix with 1 cup of water.  I don’t add the dry bouillon to the mix, so instead of water I use broth.  (By leaving the bouillon out of the mix, I can use homemade broth if I have it on hand…or it’s easy to use the bouillon if I don’t!)  Heat over medium low heat in a small saucepan until it starts to thicken.  This is equal to 1 can of soup.

soup mix

Some variations:

  • Cream of Celery: Add 1/4 cup finely diced celery.
  • Cream of Mushroom: Add 1/2 cup finely diced fresh mushrooms.
  • Cream of Broccoli: Add 1/2 cup broccoli diced and cooked.
  • Cream of Cheddar: Add 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese

Download a copy here

Cream of Whatever soup mix 2

Leave a Reply

