Supermarket Healthy by Melissa D’Arabian

I was excited to get this book to review.  It sounded like something that I could get some new ideas from….after all, I am trying to cook healthy meals for my family while shopping at the supermarket!

large supermarket healthy

I went through the book and found several promising recipes that I wanted to try.  In fact, I made 2 of the recipes from this book this week!

I wanted to try the Butternut Squash Chili with just a few modifications before it got too warm for making soup.  I loved it, one of my daughters enjoyed it with me…but the others declined the yummy goodness.  So, while it may not have been a hit with everyone I can easily see myself making a pot of this in the winter and freezing portions for an easy vegetarian meal for myself.

The Southwest Chicken Salad with Smoked Paprika Vinagarette offered a delicious dinner for us.  I enjoyed the combination of flavors, I also liked the push to make my own salad dressing (that is something I have been wanting to work on!)

This book offers a few sections she calls blueprints that lay out a method for certain dishes.  They are a great way to personalize dishes for you and your family.

This book will be a keeper in my kitchen…there are several more recipes that I am anxious to try.

I received this book from the Blogging for Books program in exchange for this review.  I did not receive any other compensation.  All thoughts in this post are my own.

Leave a Reply

