Effortless Healing by Dr. Joseph Mercola

I have been interested in reading health books for some time…so this book caught my attention.  After all, it  made health sound easy…effortless!

9780553417975

Dr. Mercola lays out 9 principles that, if followed, will bring about health and wellness.  Some of these are fairly common sense and include drinking enough water, eating more veggies, and getting enough sleep.

Some of his suggestions are a little different…such as going barefoot more often.

Most of these steps sound reasonable…such as getting more vegetables in your diet.  He always takes his principles one step further…and so he suggests not only getting enough vegetables but also consuming some of them fermented and growing your own sprouts.  Those are 2 things that have caught my attention before and I have wanted to try.

I found most of his book interesting, although, I’m not ready to follow all of his advice.  He suggests skipping one meal a day, preferably breakfast.  Now, maybe I’ve been brainwashed…but I still believe breakfast is a very important meal.  I agree that many of our traditional breakfast foods may not be very healthy (processed breakfast cereals), I also believe we can make healthy choices for this meal that will give us a good start to the day.  He is also in the anti bread/gluten camp.  I agree that as a country we eat too many starches, but I don’t agree with cutting out whole grains.

Some things made me a little wary…such as his advice about sunlight.  I have had melanoma, so I have been warned about being in the sun too much.  Dr. Mercola encourages everyone to get plenty of outdoor sunshine (not necessarily a bad thing)… without sunscreen.  He does not encourage sunburns, but gives some things to watch for to let you know you have been out long enough.  He suggests that those who have had melanoma have better outcomes if they get more sunshine…not less.  That might be something I should do some more research on!

I received this book from the Blogging for Books program in exchange for this review.  I did not receive any other compensation.  All thoughts in this post are my own.

Leave a Reply

