Kale is on the Menu!

Better Options, Healthier Choices
Everyone knows that French frys are not healthy…yet that doesn’t stop most people from ordering them at many fast food restaurants.

I’m glad that many restaurants are offering healthier side dishes. I have noticed options ranging from apple slices and fruit cups to side salads. Unfortunately, most of the side salads I’ve seen at fast food restaurants are centered on iceberg lettuce topped with a few other vegetables.

I prefer my salads with dark green leafy vegetables like kale and spinach, this can be hard to find when I’m not eating at home. Well, Chick-fil-A is changing their menu up and including a superfood salad with kale.

An article states that the new so-called superfood side features hand-chopped kale and broccolini tossed in a maple vinaigrette dressing and topped with dried sour cherries and roasted nuts, including walnuts, almonds, and pecans.  David Farmer, Chick-fil-A’s vice president of menu strategy and development, promises that people who don’t even eat broccolini or kale regularly will love the new side. “We have tested it in several markets,” he says, and “gotten a big thumbs-up from customers and restaurant operators.”

Chick-fil-A

The salad sounds delicious and I like the other healthy choices that Chick-fil-A is offers. I don’t know anyone else who has grilled chicken nuggets on their menu! I will definitely be ordering this salad the next time I have a chance to eat at Chick-fil-A.

 

Leave a Reply

