Mommy Belly aka Diastasis Recti

New school year…new goals!  This is my year to take better care of myself.  Being a mom of 6 means that quite often almost always I put the needs of my family over my own needs.  I suppose I learned this from my mom…who did the same thing.

It is not selfish to take care of myself.  A stronger, happier me is better able to care for those that depend on me!

I have figured out that I need to take care of myself so that I can take care of my family.  I don’t expect to ever have the body I had when I was 25…however, multiple pregnancies close together took a toll on my ab muscles and it is time to strengthen them.

I exercise on and off…this summer I have been doing the bikini body mommy challenge 5.0.  Bonus:  This 90 day series is free!  She does have membership options for those that want some extras…including an ab series.

I did some searching around online and on Pinterest and came up with my own ab exercises since I don’t feel that everything she does is completely ab friendly for those who have diastasis recti.

Exercise

Here is my plan:  There are 8 exercises in this post that I am going to do 6 days a week for the next 6 weeks.

  • Heel Tap (10 reps each leg)
  • Heel Slide (10 reps each leg)
  • Resistance Band Leg Pull (20 reps)
  • Knee Ball Squeeze (20 reps)
  • Weighted Bridge (20 reps with 8 lb weight)
  • Traditional Squat (10 squats)
  • Resistance Band Hop (20 hops)
  • Around the Clock Lunges (10 sets each leg)

I’m also going to add the following exercises

  • Weighted Side Bend (1 set 15 reps each side)
  • Wall Sit (1 set 30 seconds)
  • Side Plank (1 set 10 seconds each side)…this one is hard for me!  I was shaking after 10 seconds this morning!
  • Superman (2 sets 10 seconds)

Nutrition

Adding to my exercise plan

  • I am going to drink 64 ounces of water each day.  I am not a great water drinker so this will take some effort on my part.
  • I am also going to focus on getting 5 fruits and veggies each day.  This will take some planning.

 

Leave a Reply

