4 Shelf Stable Lunches

As a follow-up to this post and this post…I put together 4 lunch meals with ingredients that I could just pack in a box and put in the pantry.  My qualifications for lunch were a little different than my dinner menu.  For my lunches I wanted meals that didn’t require any cooking…that doesn’t mean some of them wouldn’t taste better if they were heated up…but I wanted to be sure they didn’t require it!

My Meals:

  1. Chef Boy R Dee and pineapple chunks
  2. Peanut butter, jelly, saltine crackers
  3. Tuna/chicken/kipper snacks, crackers, mayo, relish, baked beans
  4. Refried beans, black beans, olives, canned beef, tortilla chips

thumbnail_IMG_2387

These were easy and fast to put together…most of my time was spent trying to figure out what to include.  I put the ingredients for each meal in a grocery sack, put the sacks in a box, and put the box in a closet.

Notes:

  • This is not how we normally eat…I like fresh vegetables and I rarely use prepacked foods.  I prefer to cook from scratch…however, in an emergency situation I want to keep things simple and easy.  These are meals that even my 10 year old could prepare if I should be unavailable.
  • I plan on using these meals in 6 months and then putting together new ones…this will keep the ingredients fresh and will give us a chance to eat them and make changes if we want to.  I am especially interested to see how the crackers and tortilla chips hold up…will they be stale?

Adventure for Two

Leave a Reply

