Yoga for Kids

In the past few months I have realized that I have a child with some sensory processing issues…this is a whole new world for me so I have been learning a lot.  Although, the more I learn about it, the more I think I have another child who is affected as well.  Anyway…back to the first child…we have been going to an occupational therapist who has given me some great ideas and I have incorporated some new activities into my routine with this child.  One of the things we have started doing is yoga.

After some searching I came across these CosmicKid videos on YouTube.  They are a little goofy for my older kids…but my 7 and 5 year old boys love them.  It has been nice for me to let them do one on my iPad while I am working on something else…it keeps them busy for about 20 minutes.

However, I don’t want them always doing exercise in front of a screen.  So, I was excited to see these yoga cards on Amazon.  They have been fun to use…and there are lots of ways to use them.  Also check them out here.

The set comes with 40 cards…20 of the cards have a picture and a description of how to do the pose in a rhyme (which is helpful for someone who is new to yoga…like me!) and the other 20 card just have a picture.  This set is a great way to introduce kids to yoga.

Our favorite way to use the cards so far as been to have each boy choose 2-5 cards (depending on how much time I want to take) and line them up either on the back of my couch or on the floor.  Then we read through the rhyme and do the pose before moving on to the next one.  The rhymes are cute and clear about what we should do to get into position.  I have enjoyed doing this with my little guys…who wouldn’t…it feels great!

These cards have been a great way to incorporate sensory breaks into our morning routine.

Here we are doing some yoga on our front lawn…gotta take advantage of the nice weather while it lasts!

I received this product at a discount for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

